Greetings From Charlotte NC: Sid Sowers

Sid Sowers

Greetings From Charlotte NC: Sid Sowers

#1 Postby Sid Sowers » Fri Apr 08, 2011 6:27 am

Greetings Sophian Forum: I just joined the forum yesterday. I have been a solitary student of a few gnostic traditions for 25 years or so. I became interested in the real history of Christianity as a college student, and over time became convinced that a great con had been perpetrated on the western world by the state sanctioned orthodoxy. I became a history and political science prof. at a state community college, and continued my religious education on my own. Over the years I have closely studied a few Buddhist traditions and noticed there similarities with western gnosticism, and I've studies the old Neo-Platonic philosophy of the One, as well as the Hermetic writers. Over time, I have found that the most 'inspiring' traditions for me have been the Hermetic teachings as these are closely related to the gnostic scriptures, the early Christian Gnostics, and Buddhism. Effectively I've come to the conclusion that the classical era of the Roman Empire was a period of great religious innovation and fusion, and that the Gnostics were highly inspired writers, a school or classification of writers and mystics, that received true wisdom and light through the fusion of these ideas that prevailed in classical Rome. Obviously, over time, Christianity evolved into a more mainline and orthodox, state sanctioned religion, and as such, original insights had to be stamped out for doctrinal uniformity. At any rate these historical speculations have occupied a good bit of my time and my quest has largely been a private one. But I have been very impressed with the works of Tau Malachi and have had the chance to listen to his pod castes as well, and have finally heard a voice that has been able to cut through the historical fog as it were. To me, the original Gnostics were by definition religious innovators for their time, thus each generation