Hello and Intro

tulcaryar

Hello and Intro

#1 Postby tulcaryar » Mon Oct 06, 2014 12:33 pm

Shalom, everyone! This is my first time in this forum (and my first post in any forum for quite some time). I am a recent college grad, and have been on a path of seeking since my high school years, when I realized the great disparity between the teachings of the Christian churches that I was familiar with and the teachings of Lord Yeshua as recorded in the canonical gospels. My questions and concerns were never answered, and I began to feel as though the outer church had nothing to offer in terms of real spiritual truth.

This path led me away from mainstream Christianity to such varied traditions as Theravada Buddhism, Taoism, I Ching philosophy, Jungian psychology, Rosicrucianism, and others. I eventually discovered the Gnostic scriptures contained within the Nag Hammadi Library, and I knew I had discovered something big. I began researching Gnosticism, but for whatever reason, my search yielded no fruit. I turned to the western mystery tradition, in particular ritual magic, as what I saw to be the last surviving teachings of an ancient, supremely enlightened sect.

I still felt something missing, though, which I later discovered to be a real, intimate connection to Lord Yeshua that I used to feel in my prayer life as a Christian. I decided to try Gnosticism again, and I found some interesting websites with a great deal of theological revelations. Yet I desired practical guidance in the way of gnosis, as well as a community of like-minded seekers that I could be a part of. Most Gnostic websites I had researched were very bare; just a statement of who they were, where they were located, a brief overview of their beliefs, and, if I was lucky, selected readings or a bibliography. There were no Gnostic organizations of any kind geographically close to me.